Sultan Ibrahim of Johor the 17th monarch of Malaysia

Sultan Ibrahim of Johor the 17th monarch of Malaysia

Johor Bahru’s Sultan Ibrahim Sultan Iskandar has been sworn in as Malaysia’s 17th King.

Thousands of people gathered in Johor Bahru and Kuala Lumpur to bid farewell and welcome him.

The ceremony took place at the national palace in Kuala Lumpur, where Sultan Ibrahim took the oath of office and was officially proclaimed Yang di-Pertuan Agong for the next five years.

The Malaysian rotational monarch system allows the country’s nine rulers to take turns holding the position for five-year cycles, and Sultan Ibrahim’s term will last for five years, succeeding his predecessor, Pahang ruler Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah.

Sultan Nazrin Shah of Perak, who was elected deputy king in October’s meeting, also took the oath of office on the same day.

Thousands of Johoreans lined the streets to wave the Johor state flag and cheer “Daulat Tuanku” or “Long live the King” as Sultan Ibrahim’s motorcade passed by.